The 2015 Biennial Election will be held on Tuesday, May 5, 2015 from 7:00 AM until 8:00 PM

Offices Open for Election
Elected offices of the City of Hyattsville include the Mayor and 10 Council Members. The City is divided into five Wards with two Council Members representing each Ward. The Mayor and Council Members are elected to 4-year terms.

During each biennial election, one Council Seat from each Ward is open for election. The Mayor's Seat will also be open for election in 2015.

Voter Registration

How do I register to vote?

You must register to vote through the Maryland State Board of Elections. The State automatically forwards your registration information to the appropriate County and City offices. Typically the deadline to register to vote in an election is 30 days prior to the election date.

Forms for registering with the Maryland State Board of Elections are available at the City Municipal Building, 4310 Gallatin Street.  Forms may be obtained online here. You may also call the Prince George's County Board of Elections at 301-430-8020 to obtain forms.

If I changed my address, do I need to register again?
No. Your registration is permanent, as long as you notify the Maryland and/or your current County Board of Elections of your current address.

Polling Locations

Listed below are the polling locations for each of the City's five Wards.

Residents must vote at the location assigned for their Ward. Wards are assigned based on each voter's address in the agency voter registration records.

Your assigned Ward can be determined by using one of the following resources:

Ward One:
City Municipal Building - 4310 Gallatin Street, First Floor, Multipurpose Room

Ward Two:
Magruder Park Recreation Center - 3911 Hamilton Street (40th Avenue & Hamilton Street), Rear Multipurpose Room

Ward Three:
University Christian Church - 6800 Adelphi Road, Narthex Entrance

Ward Four:
St. Matthews Episcopal/Anglican Church - 5901 36th Avenue - entrance off of 36th Avenue

Ward Five:
Magruder Park Recreation Center - 3911 Hamilton Street (40th Avenue & Hamilton Street), Front Multipurpose Room

Upcoming Election Dates
Future City of Hyattsville elections will take place on the following dates:

  • Tuesday, May 2, 2017 
  • Tuesday, May 7, 2019 (Mayoral Election)

Questions on the election may be directed to Hyattsville City Clerk Laura Reams
by phone at 301/985-5009 or by email.