Planning Committee

Committee Description
The Hyattsville Planning Committee is a volunteer advisory group to the City Council. The Committee reviews and recommends specific action with regard to proposed Conceptual and Detailed Site Plans as well as legislative items related to planning and zoning. For more information, please email Jim Chandler, Director of Community & Economic Development.

Committee Members
Jim Chandler, Staff Liaison
Edward Haba, Council Liaison
Tom Wright, Council Liaison

Adam Weissmann, Ward 1 - As a newer member of the Hyattsville community, Mr. Wissemann and his family are excited to be settling their roots in this vibrant, diverse city. Mr. Wissemann is attuned to local challenges and opportunities in strengthening economic development, improving transportation and infrastructure, as well as building strong neighborhoods. He hopes to bring new insight to the Committee as it provides residents with a voice.

Andrew Bishop, Ward 4- Andrew has worked as a landscape architect, planner and project manager for public and private projects for the last ten years. He’s provided organizations with design, project management and consultation services throughout the Mid-Atlantic. He is optimistic that the work of the planning committee with touch people’s lives, whether it be from health and public safety standpoint, experiencing the aesthetic benefits of good design or improving the City’s environmental sustainability. 

Chad Copeland, Ward 1 - Mr. Copeland currently works as an Assistant Attorney General for the Office of the Attorney General located in Washington, D.C. He has been a resident of the Hyattsville community since August of 2014, and jumped right at the opportunity to get involved through the Planning Committee. It is his goal to support the City by making proposals and sound decisions towards Hyattsville's communal and economic development.

David Marshall, Ward 2 - With a natural curiosity geared towards the construction of schools, shopping centers, transportation hubs, and homes in his community, Mr. Marshall has participated in recent City projects concerning local development. His knowledge of the community and vast experiences in the workforce have helped him effectively engage in the City's Planning Committee.

Gia Maxwell, Ward 5 - With a B.A. from the University of Michigan in Marketing, Mrs. Maxwell has been able to promote the success of the community using her background knowledge as well as her work experiences. She devotes her time working with the youth in programs such as Junior Achievement of Greater Washington and Hyattsville's Children's Ministry at Crossover Church.
Jonathan Mueller, Ward 4 - Originally from Ohio, Jonathan studied political science and economics at The Ohio State University. He received his Masters in Public Policy at American University and worked for the Federal Highway Administration as Presidential Management Fellow. As a member of the Hyattsville community for five years, he plans on staying in the area for years to come.

Maureen Foster, Ward 2 - Mrs. Foster has served on Hyattsville's Planning Committee since 2004 in various roles, including a Representative, Secretary, and Co-chair. She is an active parent volunteer at Northwestern High and enjoys contributing to her community in as many ways as possible.

Nkosi Yearwood, Ward 2 - Since 2000, Mr. Yearwood has created and managed comprehensive transit-oriented plans for the Shady Grove and White Flint Metro stations in Montgomery County. He has also reviewed private and public development, including Base Realignment and Closure for Walter Reed at Bethesda Naval Hospital, White Flint Mall, and Montgomery County Service park redevelopment.

Rommel Sandino, Ward 2- Rommel and his family have been proud homeowners in Hyattsville for the past 10 years. He holds a B.S. in Government and Politics from the University of Maryland. He currently works with low-income communities, mostly of immigrants, improve and expand their quality of life. He hopes to bring new insight to the planning process and ensure that investment and development in the City will continue to building strong, thriving communities. 

Thomas Sheffer, Ward 1 - As a new member of the Hyattsville community, Mr. Sheffer has jumped right into getting involved with the community, He holds a degree in Planning and Working, and his interests include bike route and pedestrian improvements, as well as parks and economic development.

William Doerner, Ward 1 - Mr. Doerner holds a B.S. in Mathematics, Economics and Urban Studies, a M.S. in Economics, and a Ph.D. from Florida State University. He has applied his knowledge as a senior economist with the Federal government and has practical, research, and teaching experience relating to local housing and land issues. His goal is to improve government processes through engaged and informed decision-making.

Planning Committee meetings are generally scheduled for the 3rd Tuesday of each month at 7:30pm in the 2nd Floor Prangley Room of the Hyattsville Municipal Building. There are no meetings in August or December.

Hyattsville City offices are closed on Martin Luther King Jr. Day and President’s Day. City Council meetings were originally scheduled to occur on both of those days, but will be moved to the next day since January 18 and February 15 are both City holidays. The moving of these City Council meetings conflicts with the “Third Tuesday” schedule of the Planning Committee. As a result, January’s Planning Committee meeting with be moved to Tuesday, January 26 and February’s Planning Committee meeting moved to Tuesday, February 23. Meetings will continue with the typical “Third Tuesday” schedule beginning again in March. 

Adopted Meeting Minutes
Please find minutes of the committee meetings here: